2019 High School Composer Competition

Supported with funding from the Hanson Institute for American Music of the Eastman School of Music


The competition is open to any student enrolled in grades 9 – 12 at a schools in Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans and Wayne Counties, or home-schooled in one of these six counties.


Submissions should be no longer then ten minutes in duration for any combination of two to five instruments drawn from the following list: flute, oboe, clarinet (or bass clarinet), saxophone (soprano, alto or tenor), bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, piano, violins (up to two), viola, cello, (string) bass and percussion with mixed ensembles encouraged.


All submissions are to be submitted by e-mail in PDF format to SCMRcompetition@gmail.com by March 1, 2019. They must include both score and parts. Recordings (synthesized or live) of the composition must accompany the application as MP3 files. Please include in your email the following information:

1) Composer name
2) School name unless home-schooled
3) Phone number
4) Name and email address of principal composition or other music teacher

*Composers may submit only one work.


Submissions will be judged for their originality, artistic promise, technical skill and effectiveness in performance. Submissions not complying with the guidelines or not meeting professional standards of notation will be disqualified. The Society for Chamber Music in Rochester reserves the right to recommend that no award be given. Decisions will be announced during April 2019. The winner must attend at least one rehearsal and the performance of the composition.

For further information contact us at contact@chambermusicrochester.org.


Matthew Lucia (2019 High School Competition) - Harry Messina award for Composition and Music Theory at the Eastman Community School.

Julian Holmes (2018 College Competition)- National Federation of Music Clubs Young Composers Award, the Mannes College Bohuslav Martinů Prize, and the Second Prize at the Seventh International Antonín Dvorák Composition Competition.

Harry Stafylakis (2015 College Competition) - recipient of the Charles Ives Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; grants from the Canada Council for the Arts, New York State Council on the Arts, and New Music USA.

Grace Ann Lee (2014 High School Competition) - recipient of the NAfME (National Association for Music Educators) All-National competition for composers; performances by Women’s Works and Women in Music.

Scott Etan Feiner (2013 High School Competition) - Awards from ASCAP’s Morton Gould Young Composer Competition, the YoungArts Foundation, and the Tribeca New Music Young Composer Competition.

Profiles of all past competition winners